Writing is easy. Good writing is hard. One of the hardest things for me is coming up with titles for my books. I ponder; I vacillate; I tear up my notes and start over. If I could spare the hair, I would pull some of it out. The problem is, I can’t begin writing until I have the title. That’s just the way I work.

Here’s what I require in a title:

  • I don’t like long titles. All of mine are between one and three words. Long titles are harder to remember and potentially problematical when it’s time to design the book cover.
  • The title should connect to the book in some way. Whimsy is fine, as long as it’s not misleading or irrelevant to the actual story.
  • It should be creative in a way that will spark the interest of potential readers. There are about ten million books out there. A creative title is one way for an author to stand out.
  • The title should be unique. I’ve rejected more than one choice simply because there were already books out there with that title. I always check Amazon before I make a final decision.
  • A good title paints its own picture and facilitates the design of the book cover. I want a title and cover that are complementary. That’s powerful.

I have my title for the next Salem Matthews novel…I think. I’ve already changed my mind twice, but I love this one. My legal pad is filled with notes for the synopsis. The rest of the story is still in my head. I’m not going to tell you the title – not yet. Soon.

https://www.amazon.com/author/ronaldpaxton

http://www.facebook.com/ronald.paxton.3

 

