For me, writing a novel is a long journey of peaks and valleys. When the writing is going well, I’m on top of the world. When I’m having trouble with a scene, I struggle to avoid falling into a black abyss that threatens to derail the project. This has been the case with every book I’ve written. Why is that?

Spirit. If I lose my spirit, my essence, I can’t write until it returns. I hope this doesn’t sound like some kind of New Age crap. There’s nothing magical or philosophical about a loss of spirit. Maybe it’s a chemical imbalance. It’s certainly more than a bad mood. Feelings of despair and hopelessness are more than a bad mood. The desire to highlight 25,000 words and hit the Delete button on my computer is more than a bad mood.

Fortunately, there is always light at the end of the tunnel. The open house for authors that I host on my Facebook page each month always energizes and encourages me to keep going. The sale of a book, a nice review, a kind word…I can’t adequately express how much that means to me. I suspect this is true for every author.

Today was a good day. I wrote 1200 words and finished a chapter. Pieces of January is coming along well. Tomorrow is another day. I’m looking forward to the next chapter.

https://www.amazon.com/author/ronaldpaxton

http://www.facebook.com/ronald.paxton.3

 

