I am pleased to welcome Yvonne Garrison as a guest on my blog. Yvonne is a member of the H.E.A.R.T.S. Street Team which helps support the work of authors Judy White, Theresa Linden, and myself.

1. Tell us a little about yourself and your background.

I am a well traveled Army Brat and have been all over the US. We lived for several years in Alaska and spent some time in Texas. My mother is European and became a naturalized US citizen in the early 70s. My father served 20+ years in the Army and had several tours in Vietnam. We settled in Georgia when my dad retired and then later moved just across the Chattahoochee River to Alabama. I am married 28 years and we have a son and a daughter. My beautiful grandson was born in 2014 of my son. My daughter is not in any hurry to do the same.

2. You’re an important member of the H.E.A.R.T.S. Street Team. What has that experience been like for you?

I enjoy participating in the group. We have a good fellowship there and I like learning about the process of writing. It has opened my eyes to how hard it is for authors to get up into the mainstream and I try to do my part by sharing and encouraging friends to buy and review your books.

3. Do you recall when and how you first became interested in reading?

At a very early age I can remember that I could not wait to learn how to read. Both of my parents read to me each night until I was able to do so myself. My mother is a big reader and bought me comic books and I was a frequent visitor to the library.

4. What kinds of books do you enjoy? What kinds do you dislike?

I like to read pretty much everything from true stories, autobiographies, mystery, science fiction, fantasy, and teen books. Not a real fan of military type books, but I probably would listen to them in audio format.

5. Other than the street team, are you involved with any other book clubs or reading related groups, either online or in your community?

I participate in Good Reads. Other than that, no.

6. Some studies have shown an alarming decline in reading among adults in the United States once they have finished school. Why do you think that is, and how do you think we can reverse that trend?

I think that kids today are more interested in technology. If we can encourage them to read through that we might get them back. I honestly had not realized there was a decline.

7. What are your interests and passions besides reading?

I love flea market finds and put old sets of corning-wear back together. Oh, and I collect old books and Geni bottles.

8. Would you like to include any links to your social media pages or the sites of any causes you support? Is there anything else you would like for us to know about Yvonne Garrison?

No I do not.

Yvonne, thank you for being my guest. I enjoyed having you and appreciate everything you do for me and my fellow authors.

 

 

