I think I’m a romantic person. My wife disagrees. It’s true, I’m not one for grand gestures or public displays of my feelings. I didn’t propose at home plate in Yankee Stadium in front of fifty thousand people. I’ve never rented an airplane with a romantic banner. Never appeared on Oprah and jumped up and down on a sofa. If that’s the litmus test for romance, then I’ve failed.

Although I’m not a romance author, there is a strong, underlying romantic theme that runs throughout all of my books. The leading male characters are a reflection of myself in that regard.

John Howard is a wealthy horse rancher who married his high school sweetheart. They’ve been together for nearly fifty years. You won’t hear “I love you” coming out of John’s mouth very often. You won’t hear it, but you’ll see it. Like most men, John Howard is far better at showing rather than telling his wife and family how much he loves them.

Salem Matthews is the same way. He’s younger than John Howard, but no less committed to his wife and family. As a retired U.S. Army Special Forces veteran, he’s seen the worst the world has to offer. With his wife, Krista, and his two children, Salem has found the best. Like John Howard, he’s better at showing his love than speaking it.

This is what I believe:  The deeper the love, the more difficult and unnecessary it is to put into words. It’s a love that is constant, continuous, and on full display in the actions and gestures that fill an ordinary day. John Howard believes this. So does Salem Matthews. I think that’s romantic, but maybe I’m wrong.

https://www.amazon.com/author/ronaldpaxton

http://www.facebook.com/ronald.paxton.3

 

