Let me start by saying that I am not a best-selling author…not even close. Many, if not most of you that will read this post already know that. That’s all right. In some ways, it’s even a good thing.

Don’t get me wrong – I would love to make the NY Times best seller list. Maybe some day I will. In the meantime let me point out some of the advantages of being a relatively obscure novelist. I’m not trying to be a Pollyanna here. I’m serious.

1. I can write whatever I want. I don’t have an agent, publisher, or huge fan base demanding yet another Alex Cross/Doc Ford/Jack Reacher novel by the end of the year.

2. I don’t have to worry about being recognized in public or hounded for autographs. I can see why Stephen King lives in Maine. He wouldn’t be able to go to the grocery store or out to eat in a lot of places.

3. I promote my work online. I don’t have to crisscross the country doing live appearances, interviews, or guest spots on the Tonight show. That would be nearly impossible for me. If you’re an introvert you know what I mean.

4. I don’t have the pressure of trying to meet the goals and expectations of my sales/support team at a Big Five publisher. My novels are published by small, traditional publishers. My sales/support team is primarily me.

If you’re a new or indie author still struggling to develop your brand and fan base, I hope this post is useful. Don’t forget me when you hit the big time.

https://www.amazon.com/author/ronaldpaxton

http://www.facebook.com/ronald.paxton.3

