The following are select quotes from ten of my favorite authors.

Tim Dorsey – “Nothing builds confidence like live ammo.”

Elmore Leonard – “I don’t believe in writer’s block or waiting for inspiration. If you’re a writer, you sit down and write.”

Stephen King – “We make up horrors to help us cope with the real ones.”

Nevada Barr – “We are one another’s angels.”

Robert Parker – “I write five pages a day. If you would read five pages a day, we’d stay right even.”

John Sandford – “Most people like a little sex in their novels.”

Harlan Coben – “In real life, coincidences happen all the time. In novels, they are leapt upon with fury.”

James Patterson – “I guess I write four or five hours a day, but I do it seven days a week. It’s very disciplined, yes, but it’s joy for me.”

Rita Mae Brown – “The reward for conformity is that everyone likes you but yourself.”

Randy Wayne White – “The tough thing about writing is you go into a room alone, you close the door and you do your work.”

