Social media scares me. No, it doesn’t scare me like a person with a weapon threatening me or my family. It doesn’t scare me like a doctor with a medical diagnosis for a loved one that’s in the hospital. It doesn’t even scare me like an e-mail reply from a potential publisher regarding one of my submissions.

Time. Social media takes a lot of time. That’s what scares me – the hours slipping away when I want and need to be working on my current project.

I’m not looking for sympathy. This is my choice and most authors face the same issue. In my case it involves being active on LinkedIn, Goodreads, Twitter, and two Facebook pages. I also occasionally update my website, post a few pictures from Pinterest, and try to write something interesting on this blog. If you’re reading this I’ve succeeded, unless you hate what I’ve had to say up to this point.

Don’t get me wrong – I don’t hate social media. I enjoy interacting and engaging with people. I like connecting although, frankly, I do better behind a keyboard than I do in person.

Compartmentalization is the key. Finish one task and move on to the next. Early this morning I finished reviewing the initial proof for “Soul Man,” and e-mailed a list of corrections to my publisher. Since then I’ve been tweeting, commenting, friending, following, connecting, and blogging. After lunch I’ll start writing the second chapter of “Tears at Sunrise.” I’m looking forward to it.

Happy Easter.

http://www.facebook.com/ronald.paxton.3

https://twitter.com/ronaldpaxton2

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=ronald+paxton

