I don’t believe in the idea of writing days any more than I believe in eating days or peeing days. If you’re serious about something – running, cycling, reading, eating, peeing, or anything else – you do it every day. It’s how you get better at what you’re doing.

Here’s the problem: You’ve planned your writing day. You’re going to spend all day locked away working on your novel. You’ll probably knock out another five or six thousand words. Except it’s been five days since you’ve worked on your story or even given it much thought. You’re on the outside looking in at your characters. You can’t remember their voices. The plot and narrative seem fuzzy in your mind. Who are these people? You’ve stayed away too long and you’ve lost the thread of your writing. The only thing to do is to go back to the beginning and try to find your place. At this rate, you may never finish the book.

I just finished my sixth novel, “Silent Waltz,” and I’ve learned something important. I’m a better writer when I write every day.

It’s not hard to find an hour a day. Turn off the television; ignore Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and LinkedIn; stop taking pictures of yourself and your food – it’s disturbing; and for God’s sake quit reading this blog post. Just write.

