I have an idea for a new reality series. Just what we need, right? Don’t worry, it’s a simple concept that doesn’t require actors, elaborate sets or unusual locations, or a large production staff.

Each week a single camera person will film a 65 year old individual trying to sign up for Medicare Supplement coverage (aka Medigap) and Medicare Part D (aka Drug Coverage).

Slap yourself if your eyes are starting to glaze over. Diane and I spent an hour and forty minutes on the phone yesterday afternoon trying to get this done. I should probably mention that I have a pretty extensive professional background in financial services, but trying to find the best plan for the best price was like, it was like…I’m sorry, I can’t come up with a simile or metaphor that would capture the degree of difficulty and dysfunction involved in that endless phone conversation. I think the agent was as bewildered as we were because he kept excusing himself to speak with his manager.

The good news is we got it done. Did we get the best plan? I don’t know; I don’t think anybody does.

So, I definitely think I need to pitch the reality show concept to someone. Plan B would be to air it as a really long public service announcement. Plan C would be for me to write a book about this.

Plan C will have to wait – I’m working on another novel right now – but maybe that will be my next project. Yeah, Plan C.

