I do have my preferences, but if you need a review or a beta reader for a work-in-progress, I’ll help you regardless of the genre.

The novels I read are mainly suspense, thrillers, and mysteries. I also enjoy Southern history and creative non-fiction. In the latter category I highly recommend The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid by Bill Bryson. If you’re a man over the age of 50 you’ll like this one. If you’re over 60 you’ll love it. I also enjoy everything by Augusten Burroughs. Read his work if you’re open-minded and enjoy bizarre humor leavened with a helping of tragedy and despair. Finally, let me just say that Jenny Lawson is the funniest person on the planet. If you don’t believe me, read Let’s Pretend This Never Happened.

I don’t much care for the following genres but will read them upon request:

Fantasy – Sorry. I don’t care about Harry Potter. I don’t even care about Lord of the Rings.

Sci-Fi – I was a C- student in science. I have a poor grasp of it and am incapable of fully appreciating the innovative writing of Sci-Fi authors. My bad.

Paranormal – I’m just not interested in werewolves, zombies, or vampires. Okay, female vampires are pretty hot, but I’d rather look at them than read about them.

Erotica – It’s usually women writing about hot guys. I’m not gay, so I don’t care. Even when it goes the other way, I should point out the obvious – men are visual creatures. Why do you think Al Gore invented the Internet?

Okay, that’s allI have to say. Now you know a little more about me and my reading habits. Aren’t you glad?

