Last night I dreamed about oatmeal cookies. I know – I’m odd.

I’ve noticed that I dream a lot when I’m working on a novel or short story. The dreams have a strange, Alice in Wonderland kind of flow, but they tend to involve a particular challenge or problem that I’m experiencing with some aspect of the story. It may be a less than satisfactory title, a bland character, an issue with the plot, a section of dialogue that doesn’t feel quite right, or any number of other things. These are not the kinds of dreams that leave me refreshed in the morning. On the contrary, I usually awaken tired and grouchy, sometimes on the verge of a panic attack. It’s a bad feeling.

There is some good news. I’m usually able to remember at least some of the dream and there are often some helpful ideas that I’m able to extract from it that aid me in solving my particular writing problem.

It’s an interesting phenomenon. What does it mean? Am I so witless that I’m smarter when I’m asleep than when I’m awake?

Don’t answer that question!

My guess is that while I’m dreaming my subconscious mind is working to resolve the problem that is the source of so much stress and frustration when I’m awake. I could be wrong; I only took two semesters of Introductory Psychology in college, so there’s a good chance I have no idea what I’m talking about.

Anyway, it’s almost time for lunch. Diane and I are going to Schlotzky’s today. Guess what I’m getting for dessert.

