I read writers rather than books. I have my favorite authors and I read every book they write. The names have changed over the years, but my approach has remained the same. I find writers whose work I love, usually in the mystery, suspense, and thriller genres, and I stick with them.

I grew up with the Chip Hilton sports series authored by the great Clair Bee. There was John D. MacDonald, the best writer I have ever read. If you’re a literary fiction purist this is your chance to shake your head in a condescending and self-congratulatory manner. I’ll tell you this – nobody, not Hemingway, Fitzgerald, Faulkner, or anybody else, ever created a character like Travis McGee.

MacDonald eventually gave way to Stephen King and Dean Koontz who, in turn, have given way to the three authors who are now at the top of my list.

John Sandford – Lucas Davenport, Virgil Flowers, and the Prey novels. A great writer and storyteller. Read one of his books and you’ll be hooked.

Randy Wayne White – I love the Doc Ford series and the setting on Sanibel Island, Florida.

Nevada Barr – What a great name! This lady knows how to put some testosterone in her writing. The Anna Pigeon series is excellent. I’m reading her latest now.

I’m sure the names will continue to change and that’s fine with me. I’ll always have books to read.

