They’re important. Writers need them for the support, validation, and feedback they offer. They also help authors sell their books. Readers also need the unbiased opinions of other readers to assist them in making informed purchasing choices.

That said, getting reviews isn’t easy. Other writers are often too busy writing, planning, plotting, or promoting their own work to read and review that of someone else. I’m guilty of this, although I have done a few reviews.

What about free days on Goodreads or Amazon? I’ve done that. Several hundred people downloaded copies of my debut novel, “Winter Songs.” I had politely requested that readers of my free book take a few minutes to leave a review. I got seven reviews. Seven. What is wrong with people? That’s a rhetorical question, by the way. I’m afraid I already know the answer.

How about bloggers? I’m currently requesting reviews from a gigantic list of bloggers. This is bound to work, right? Maybe, but it’s not quite as good as it sounds. Some of the blogs are defunct; a few are in foreign languages; some require physical copies of the book, which is not cost effective; some are closed to new reviews and some aren’t interested in my genre. There are a lot of bloggers out there who read dystopian, steampunk, and something called new adult. I have managed to send out a large number of review requests to bloggers who are interested in contemporary fiction, mysteries, and suspense. We’ll see what happens.

I’m grateful to have received my first review for “Haven” and hope that it assists readers in considering the purchase of my book. If you do read my novel please consider taking a few minutes to leave a review. Thank you, and I hope you enjoy it.

