All writers, even the giants who sell a gazillion copies of their latest book, face rejection. It’s part of being a writer and you better learn to deal with it if you want to stay in the game. Rejection comes in several forms and, believe me, I’ve experienced them all. This is how I react:

        Bad Reviews – This is the hardest one for me. I try not to dwell on them. Instead, I will re-read some of my good reviews and take heart from my overall rating average of 4.3, or whatever it happens to be.

       Constructive Criticism – There is no such thing as constructive criticism. It demeans and diminishes the effort the writer has put into his work. I know, I know, calm down. I didn’t say the criticism was without merit or unworthy of consideration. I’ll think about it, consider the source, and then move on.

      Publisher Rejections – It’s frustrating, but it’s a numbers game. I’m trying to find one now. I know the writing is good enough because I’ve already had one publisher release three of my novels. My reviews further bolster my confidence in the quality of my work. This wasn’t the case when I was still trying to find my first publisher.

     Agent Rejections – I’m in the midst of this now. The rejections don’t really bother me because I know finding an agent is a long shot. Again, I’m confident the writing is up to snuff, but there’s more to it than that. Agents are looking for writers that already have a substantial fan base so that their 15% commission check is large enough to be worth their time. I don’t have that—- not yet.

    Paltry Book Sales – Discouraging. Like most writers I’ve tried and continue to try almost everything. I have a website, Facebook page, Pinterest account, Twitter, blog, and LinkedIn account. I also send out press releases. I’ve learned two things: 1) At the end of the day there is nothing I can do to get someone to cough up $3.99 for one of my novels. 2) Don’t expect to see me doing free days on Amazon or Goodreads. They don’t work, at least not for me.

Thanks for listening.

 

 

