I wish I made minimum wage. No, you didn’t misread that. If you’re a writer you almost certainly know what I’m talking about.

Don’t misunderstand me; I support a more equitable minimum wage for fast food workers, retail associates, and anyone else toiling in that particular corner of hell. But what about authors? Most of us spend all day, every day, writing, editing, plotting, and promoting. It’s not just the actual writing, although I can tell you it takes a lot of hours to produce a good novel. It never ends. If I’m not writing this blog I’m working on my current novel, or promoting my other two novels, or working on edits or the cover for my third and fourth novels which are due out soon.

I’m not complaining. Really, I’m not. This post is simply an observation I don’t write for the money but that doesn’t mean I wouldn’t like to make as much as possible. I suspect artists and musicians feel the same.

This will never happen, of course, nor am I seriously suggesting that it should. I just hope people who read this will give it a little thought. In the meantime I’ll keep chasing that $7.25 an hour.

