Why do I write? It hasn’t made me rich or famous; far from it. If I bothered to calculate the number of hours I spend conceiving, writing, editing, and promoting my novels for the royalties I receive, I would probably step off a sidewalk into oncoming traffic.

Just kidding. So, why do I write? What have I accomplished? What do I hope to gain from all this effort?

I write because I must, like the serious athlete who has to practice and train, like the artist who has to draw or paint, like the musician who has to play. It keeps me sane and gives me a feeling of satisfaction and accomplishment. Most of all, it’s fun.

I may not be rich or famous, but I have accomplished some things. I’ve had over forty short stories published and received nominations for the Pushcart Prize and Best of the Net awards. By the way, these aren’t awards you win by campaigning for votes and likes on Facebook. I’ve also written five novels, two of which are currently available on Amazon.

What’s left? I’m currently developing the concept for my next novel. I want to keep expanding my fan base; I want to keep improving as a writer; I want to sell more books; I want to sell the film rights to my books; I want to be the next James Patterson.

Quit laughing; it could happen.

 

