I write for myself – five novels and over forty short stories so far, all for myself.

Let me explain. I understand the concept of finding an audience for my books. When I’m not actually writing I spend a lot of time trying to promote my work and sell more books through active participation on several Internet sites and social media platforms. I will try, and have tried, almost anything to bring attention to my novels, but I’m still writing for myself.

Isn’t this a contradiction? Shouldn’t I just identify my audience and write what they want?

First of all, it’s not that easy. If I have ten people read any of my novels, chances are each of them will have something different to say about it. I believe that it’s hard, if not impossible, to predict or pigeon-hole the reading tastes of the general public. That said, the primary reason I write for an audience of one is because I have to like and be satisfied with what I’m writing if I hope to elicit the same response from my readers. My reading tastes are fairly eclectic and, I think, representative of what people enjoy. If I like the book I’ve written it should find an audience if I’m effective in my marketing efforts. If I don’t like what I’ve written it won’t find an audience because I won’t release it.

 

