“The most important things are the hardest things to say. They are the things you get ashamed of because words diminish your feelings – words shrink things that seem timeless when they are in your head to no more than living size when they are brought out.”

Stephen King said that. What he didn’t say was there is a way to restore those most important things to their original size in the author’s minds. I have written four novels and each one contains scenes, passages, and dialogue that is difficult for me to read aloud. It doesn’t matter if I’m reading to one person, twenty people, or my cat. You will hear it in my voice and see it on my face. I will pause; I will take a deep breath; I may or may not be able to continue. You will know that the passage I am reading, or trying to read, contains things that are enormously important to me. That’s why I love to read aloud and it’s why I hate to read aloud.

I am currently working on my fifth novel, “Soul Man,” and I can assure you that it is filled with important things.

