I don’t know but I’ve seen some troubling statistics that suggests they’re disappearing faster than vacationers at a shark-infested beach. It’s a difficult time to be a writer. Like most authors I’m active in social media and belong to a number of writing related groups. I’m unnerved by the number of prominent and semi-prominent Big Six authors I see promoting their work on the same sites that I use. I never expected to compete with these people, at least not yet. They have greater name recognition and broader fan bases than I do, so what are they doing in my little corner of the Internet?

It’s an ominous sign and I fear for the future of small publishers and indie authors. If things don’t change I expect the current trend toward self-publishing to stall or even decline. If an indie author can’t sell enough books to cover editing and printing costs with a little left over for marketing, many will lose heart or be forced to give up for financial reasons. Small publishers will begin to disappear if they’re fighting with larger publishers for a smaller audience, and I haven’t even mentioned the issue of vanishing bookstores. The small, independent stores are mostly gone and Barnes and Noble is hanging on by its fingernails.

So, back to my original question: where have all the readers gone? I’ve almost finished this entry and I still don’t have an answer. I hope someone does. I would love to hear your thoughts on this post.

