Calm down! I’m talking about something else.

I started out writing children’s stories. I couldn’t find a publisher. I moved on to writing short stories for an older audience. I couldn’t find a publisher. I kept writing short stories and finally broke through in 2008 when I sold “Cowboy,” a 5000 word story, to Literary Roads, a now defunct publisher.

The point is I evolved as a writer. My copy of Webster’s defines evolution as any process of formation or growth. My writing continues to evolve. I’ve published around forty short stories and am currently working on my fifth novel.

As an author I’m a work in progress. I’m a better writer today than I was in 2008 when I sold that short story. Will I get better? I think I will. It’s easy enough to tell; all I have to do is compare my current work with past efforts.

Writing is a continuum. At some point I will reach a plateau, but I’m not there yet. I’m still on the upswing; still evolving. Time for me to write.

