Happy New Year everyone! I’m looking forward to 2014 because I learned a few things in 2013 that I believe will help me in the new year.

1. I can’t control sales; I can barely influence them. I spend a lot of time trying to market and promote my books. I’ve certainly raised my visibility but I don’t think my efforts have really impacted my sales.

2. My books will continue to sell even after the initial flurry of interest. “Winter Songs” has been out for over a year and continues to sell a few copies. “Deep Water,” which was released two weeks ago is off to a good start and I expect that to continue. I’m grateful for the support of my readers.

3. It’s very hard to get anyone to review your books, even though it takes just a few minutes to write a short paragraph on Amazon.

4. Facebook and other social media sites are a great way to connect and interact, but they will steal your time until there’s not a lot left over for writing.

5. There are a lot of prizes, contests, and awards that writers can win based on the number of Likes they can get. I hate that because, too often it has little or nothing to do with the quality of the writing. I will continue to honor requests for Likes only because I hope the author will, at some point, reciprocate with a review or purchase of one of my books. I know; I’m dreaming.

I’m going to spend more time writing and begging for reviews in 2014. If you’re reading this blog and have gotten this far please consider this my initial plea of 2014 for a review of “Winter Songs” and “Deep Water.”

My next novel, “Haven,” has been accepted and should be released sometime this year and I’m currently working on “Soul Man,” the third novel in my Salem Matthews series. Thank you for your support and interest in my work. 2014 is going to be a great year.

 

