For me, one of the hardest aspects of writing is “naming” the novel or short story I’m writing. The title is important; it needs to attract the interest of potential readers and should be relevant to the content that is being written. Okay, it doesn’t HAVE to be relevant to the content; a title can be whimsical or even nonsensical. I don’t particularly care for that approach but that’s just my opinion. I’m not saying it’s wrong.

In the case of novels and novellas the title should facilitate the creation of a book cover and stimulate the interest of the reader. For example, something like “Dragon’s Breath” might be a better title and cover for a fantasy novel than something more nebulous.

I have a tentative name for my next novel which I should be starting soon. I’ll let you know the title as soon as I’m underway. Until then, think pirates!

 

