I don’t know, although I think there’s a fair chance it has already been written and is hiding in plain sight among the millions of titles on Amazon.

I didn’t write it. I’m a very good writer, or so I’ve been told, but I’m no Hemingway or Steinbeck. I wish.

It depresses me to think of the number of good and great books that remain largely invisible on Amazon and other sites. The quality of the writing will do almost nothing to raise visibility. If the author is not published by one of the Big Six he or she will probably remain invisible unless the book is made into a film or television series. Talk about a long shot!

The good news is that writers will continue to write because, to paraphrase James Earl Jones from the great movie, “Field of Dreams,” it’s what they do. Writers will write and we’ll continue to hope that the readers will come.

