Ever thought about the types of books you read and why you read them? In my case, I enjoy general/crime/suspense/mystery/noir/action-adventure fiction. I’m not a big horror fan and have no interest at all in romance, paranormal romance, fantasy, or sci-fi. I’m all for broadening one’s reading horizons, but I’m 64 years old. I know what I like and what I don’t like.

That said, there are some authors that I used to enjoy who I no longer read.

James Patterson – most of his books are co-authored now. I don’t like that. I want to know who I’m reading.

Dean Koontz – I’ve noticed some editing problems in his work. I’ve also grown tired of his insertion of his own religiosity into his characters, sometimes out of nowhere. It’s disruptive and tiresome.

Stephen King – I love his writing, but I’ve moved on. I always read his work because he’s such a great storyteller. I’m just tired of horror.

Jonathan Kellerman – I’ve read a lot of his work, although I’m not sure why. His characters are fairly interesting and the psychologist background is fairly interesting. I guess I’ve reached the point where I want something better than fairly interesting.

The upside to leaving these authors behind is that I have found new writers whose work I enjoy. At some point I will probably grow tired of them and move on. Or maybe I’ll return to some of my old favorites, We’ll see.

