I’m an old guy, 64 to be exact, and I was tempted to turn this into an old guy rant, but I won’t because I don’t want to be “that” old guy.

Have you noticed the comments section on articles on the Internet? My God, judging from the syntax, grammar, and spelling you would think everyone was from a foreign country and English was their second or third language. It’s frightening; more than a few of the posts are incoherent and nearly unintelligible, as if they were written by a person with no organizational or critical thinking skills.

Let me be clear – I’m neither a genius nor a member of the grammar police. I’m just a person with above average intelligence who went to high school and college in the sixties and early seventies.

Things were different then; people read, discussed issues of the day (Vietnam!!), and drank a lot of beer. We lived in the moment and were fully engaged. What happened?

I don’t know, really. I know that watered down curriculums and grade inflation happened. I know that the Internet and social media happened, creating a generation of children that could no longer be punished for misbehavior by being sent to their room. Meaningful engagement and interaction has declined along with learning.

Literacy should not be limited to one’s computer skills. Put down your Smartphone, turn off the computer, and pick up a book, any book, and read. Thirty minutes a day, that’s all I ask.

Okay, I’m done. I said I wasn’t going to be “that” old guy. I lied.

 

